Translation Loss Records are proud to announce the release of WAKE, Misery Rites. The Calgary, Canada grind legion will release their blistering new album, Misery Rites on February 23, 2018. 

Decibel Magazine kindly premiere the blistering title track, “Misery Rites” and it can be streamed HERE


GDOB-30H3-007 3.5mm spine

Artwork by: Alexandre Goulet

WAKE, Misery Rites

Few metal heads would say the name WAKE isn’t synonymous with “relentless”. Over the last decade, consistent ethics, back-to-back tours, and a veritable stream of releases have turned this humble grinding metal outfit into a Canadian institution.

Misery Rites, WAKE’s sophomore album, delivers nine thunderously crushing songs and takes a harsh, introspective, and shattering look into the deep, interdimensional corners of intimate struggle. Vocalist Kyle Ball explains, Misery Rites is a concept that contains personal struggle with depression, addiction and isolation. It also follows a theme of cycles, the main cycle being the metaphorical killing of the person you hate being only to eventually end up back in the same place, just to start the cycle again.” WAKE face their inner torment with fury and weave dark, caustic guitar playing and bludgeoning drums to create the raw, dark terror throughout Misery Rites.  

Misery Rites was recorded, mixed, and mastered in 2017 with Dave Otero at Flatline Audio (KHEMMIS, PRIMITIVE MAN, COBALT). WAKE guitarist Rob LaChance reveals their vision for Misery Rites; “musically, the vision of the album was to take what we did on Sowing The Seeds of a Worthless Tomorrow and make it darker and more oppressing.” Rob continues, “I think having Dave Otero on production helped capture a lot of what we were going for.  Dave is a very talented guy and one of the best engineers in the game right now. Recording in Denver also made it easy for us to have our good friend Ethan McCarthy (PRIMITIVE MAN, VERMIN WOMB) do some vocals on a few tracks”. 


Video By Chariot Of Black Moth

From early tours leaning on nothing but the DIY release of Surrounded By Human Filth, to multiple Maryland Deathfest appearances, and European tours with Relapse Records artists PRIMITIVE MAN, they released LPs via the inimitable Nerve Altar records. Logging tens of thousands of miles alone in the middle of the USA or with a host of Americas best heavy bands, WAKE have proved that over the course of the decade, their workload and fury are never-ending.  After finishing Misery Rites with Dave Otero at Flatline Audio, an August European outing with BACKSLIDER, and various festival appearances, WAKE carry on the same as usual in 2017 and beyond – scorning the weak, ignoring the trends, and digging heels into the road.  WAKE plan to unleash a full US & Canadian tour, scheduled around the release of Misery Rites.

Misery Rites is scheduled for release on February 23, 2018 and will be available on vinyl, compact disc, cassette, and digital. Vinyl is available in two colours. Black with Heavy White Splatter (limited to 300) and Black Inside of Milky Clear (colour in colour) with Heavy White, Bone White, and Grey Splatter (mail-order exclusive, limited to 200). 

Track Listing:
1. Exhumation
2. Misery Rites
3. Embers
4. Rot
5. Paradigm Lost
6. Exile
7. Rumination
8. Bitter Winter
9. Burial Ground

WAKE are
Rob LaChance – guitar
Kyle Ball – vocals
Arjun Gill – guitar
Josh Bueckert – drums

WAKE Official Links

Translation Loss Records

For more information, please contact Perfect World Productions at: