Academic, apocalyptic black metal unit Lychgate return with their third and most mature work to date, titled “The Contagion in Nine Steps”.

Mixed and Mastered by Jaime Gomez Arellano (Opeth, Paradise Lost, Grave Pleasures), “The Contagion in Nine Steps” sees Lychgate continue to push their arcane darkness forward, casting off a large amount of its opulent organ work in favor of eternally reverberating guitars and extra clean vocal work, giving the perspective of a Satanic performance in a grand and opulent hall. “The Contagion in Nine Steps” will be released worldwide on March 30, 2018. The album is available for pre-order at

LYCHGATE are streaming the first new track from “The Contagion in Nine Steps”. The track titled “Remembrance” showcases Lychgate’s trademark black metal/funeral doom crossover alongside compositional elements reminiscent of the 20th century avant-garde.

“Remembrance” is streaming now at Decibel Magazine.

Regarding the new track, the band comments, “This is the “ceremonial” outro track, which brings the album to a close in a nostalgic, reflective and funereal manner. Unlike much of the rest of the album, it features only clean vocals and is consistently slow throughout. It is important to remember its place as the final track in the album, since frantic and bizarre tracks like ‘Hither Come the Swarm’ are a stark contrast to it.”



Featuring artwork by Michel Guy, layout design by Oksana Gulina, and official logo by Luis Miguel.

Track List:
1) Republic
2) Unity of Opposites
3) Atavistic Hypnosis
4) Hither Comes the Swarm
5) The Contagion
6) Remembrance

Featuring key members of The One, Esoteric, and Macabre Omen, Lychgate’s “The Contagion in Nine Steps” is one of the most musically accomplished albums to recently come from the confines of the conservative black metal scene. Breaking every rule while managing to bridge the depths of Hell with glimpses of the effervescence of Heaven.

Follow Lychgate online: