Listen to the opening track from LYCHGATE’s forthcoming Blood Music release, “The Contagion in Nine Steps” now via Metal Hammer!

Read/Listen HERE


Featuring artwork by Michel Guy, layout design by Oksana Gulina, and official logo by Luis Miguel.


Utilizing the band’s trademark black metal / funeral doom crossover and adding in compositional elements reminiscent of the 20th century avant-garde, there truly is no equal for LYCHGATE‘s sound. One of the hidden gems of the UK extreme metal scene, the band continues to push its arcane darkness forward, casting off a large amount of its opulent organ work in favor of eternally reverberating guitars and extra clean vocal lines, giving the perspective of a Satanic performance in a grand and opulent hall.

The album’s general themes are inspired by swarm behaviour exhibited by the machines in Stanisław Lem’s book “The Invincible,” as well as through Plato’s, Hegel’s, Le Bon’s, and Canetti’s ideas on civilization, consciousness, and crowd psychology.

Featuring key members of The One, Esoteric, and Macabre Omen, “The Contagion in Nine Steps” is one of the most musically accomplished albums to recently come from the confines of the conservative black metal scene. Breaking every rule while managing to bridge the depths of Hell with glimpses of the effervescence of Heaven.”


“The Contagion in Nine Steps” Track List:
1) Republic
2) Unity of Opposites
3) Atavistic Hypnosis
4) Hither Comes the Swarm
5) The Contagion
6) Remembrance

Available March 30th via Blood Music. Pre-order is available now HERE.

Follow Lychgate online:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s