Squalus, “Fourth of July”
Northern California’s turbulent, JAWS worshipping, genre defying, progressive quartet Squalus, reveal “Fourth of July” from their forthcoming split with Chico, CA progressive sludge band, Shadow Limb, titled, “Mass and Power”. Listen to “Fourth of July” today at Decibel Magazine.

“For those who don’t know, our 2017 debut record, The Great Fish… is a retelling of Jaws,” explains guitarist/vocalist Aaron John Gregory. “To fit it all on a single LP, we had to cut a song. The track ‘Fourth of July’—which recreates the early conversation between Mayor Vaughn and Sheriff Brody about shutting down the beaches—was originally supposed to be the second track on the album, sitting in between songs that depict attacks on the first two victims. The completionist in me loved having a song for that scene with all that great dialogue, but for a number of reasons it was the most likely candidate to be severed when trimming down the album playtime. Knowing that we wanted to do something with it down the line gave us the perfect excuse to release this split with Shadow Limb, and record a couple new songs while we were at it.”

“Mass and Power” will be released on December 14th via Translation Loss Records on LP/digital.

Listen to “Fourth of July” at Decibel Magazine here.

Artwork hand painted by Aaron John Gregory

Northern California’s turbulent, JAWS worshipping, genre defying, progressive quartet Squalus and thicker-than-an-oil-spill sludge outfit Shadow Limb team up for a split LP of titantic proportions!

“This split with Shadow Limb had been a long time coming” explains Squalus frontman, Aaron John Gregory. “These dudes have been a brother band of our’s since our days of being Giant Squid and since they were La Fin Du Monde, we’ve been talking about doing something together like this for years.”

Mass and Power was engineered, mixed, mastered, and produced by acclaimed engineer, Tim Green (Wolves In The Throne Room, The Fucking Champs, Melvins, Giant Squid).

Mass and Power is available for pre-order on two vinyl varients via Translation Loss Records and features hand painted artwork by the Squalus frontman, Aaron John Gregory.

Track listing:
1. Squalus – 4th of July
2. Squalus – Swim Charlie, Swim
3. Squalus – Violent Climax
4. Squalus – Mass and Power
5. Shadow Limb – Lobstrosities
6. Shadow Limb – Pop Song
7. Shadow Limb – Dark Sigil

Squalus is:
Aaron John Gregory – bass, vocals (Giant Squid, Khôrada)
Zach Farwell – drums (Grayceon, Giant Squid)
Bryan Beeson – bass
Andrew Southard – keyboards, piano (Giant Squid)

Official links:
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/squalus.band
Instagram – @giant_squalus_bands
Bandcamp – https://going-to-need-a-bigger-boat.bandcamp.com