Denver, CO’s PRIMITIVE MAN and Salem, OR’s HELL join forces for the years most crushing split release of death, sludge, and doom mastery. Two new songs from PRIMITIVE MAN and one new song from HELL delivering over 20 minutes of massive riffs, lurking black atmosphere, crippling and tormented voices, deathly sludge, and funeral groove.

Artwork by Ethan McCarthy

“The world is rotting all around us and that’s what these songs are about” says PRIMITIVE MAN frontman, Ethan McCarthy. “We chose to do a split with HELL out of a mutual respect for their art. M.S.W has easily written some of the best doom/sludge songs of the last 5 years and we’re excited to be able to share a release with him.”

“At the time I was in the mood to write more in the style of the HELL I album. Stomping, deep, low-fi” says HELL creator, M.S.W. “The lyrics are about the everyday struggle of crippling anxiety and depression but not to fear it. Embrace it and use it to your advantage until it subsides, if at all. “Do not fear what you suffer. Do not fear the compression in your chest”. The lyrics are aimed toward being surrounded by greed and the overlords that control this fucked up place we exist in as if they were born in Hell.” M.S.W continues, “HELL and PRIMITIVE MAN have played multiple shows/fests together and we’ve always been fans of each others tunes. Sometimes all you have to do is ask. I am excited for this release to finally come out and very happy to be on wax with those dudes.”

Featuring brand new artwork by Primitive Man frontman, Ethan McCarthy (Cool Ghoul).

Pre-order is available now via Translation Loss Records for the limited vinyl pressing. There are two vinyl variants. Blood Red, which is limited to 200 copies and Clear with Heavy Blood Red Smoke with Heavy Black and Grey Splatter which is limited to 100 copies.

Official release date is February 22, 2018. 

Track Listing:

  1. Primitive Man – Oily Tears
  2. Primitive Man – Pitiful & Loathsome
  3. Hell – Nuumen

Recorded and mastered in Denver, CO at Flatline Audio by Dave Otero
Photo by Alvino Salcedo

Ethan Lee McCarthy – vocals, guitar
Jonathan Campos – bass
Joe Linden – drums

Recorded in Salem, WA at The Burial Grounds by MSW
Mastered by Dave Otero at Flatline Audio
Photo by Dave Burke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s