Album artwork by Samuel Nelson

Following their thunderously crushing and critically acclaimed full-length, “Sentiment”, Seattle, WA death doomers Un have joined forces with UK blackened doom trio Coltsblood for an unforgettable and massive limited cassette (100 copies) and digital split release.

Despite hailing from opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean, the two bands share a certain sonic kinship. With both favouring eerie, spine tingling atmospherics as much as they do cavernous, earth-shaking riffs, they make ideal partners for a split EP.

Having toured extensively with bands like Hooded Menace and Witchsorrow in the wake of their 2017 album ‘Ascending Into Shimmering Darkness’, Coltsblood are currently firing on all cylinders. Their contribution, the epic ‘Snows Of The Winter Realm’, encapsulates everything that makes the band great in a succinct 20 minutes, drawing on nihilistic Grief-esque sludge, traditional doom guitar heroics and the most unkempt and unruly Finnish black metal to create an incredibly evocative and physically punishing sound that is entirely their own.

Meanwhile, Un are riding high on the waves of acclaim for their 2018 full-length ‘Sentiment’, one of the year’s most gripping and emotive doom records. Far from being just a B-side scraped off the cutting room floor, the quartet’s offering ‘Every Fear Illuminated’ is a stellar addition to their growing discography in its own right, showcasing their ability to pen powerful, affecting melodies as well as conjuring forlorn, desolate soundscapes. Guitarist/vocalist (and current Samothrace bassist) Monte Mccleery’s guttural bellow has never sounded stronger. He is joined by Windhand/Cough bassist/vocalist, Parker Chandler who delivers an elegant, slow-burning force, ensuring the song will stick with you long after its 21 minutes have drawn to its sombre, piano accompanied close.

Housed in ethereal artwork courtesy of Samuel Nelson and mastered by Greg Chandler at Priory Recording Studios, the self-released cassette will be available as a one-time run of 100 copies in December/January. With no label support, the split truly is a labour of love from both bands, and serves as a timely reminder of the resilience, strength and diversity of the worldwide doom metal scene.

Pre-order is available now in North America via Un and in Europe via Coltsblood.

Coltsblood is:
Jemma Mcnulty
John Mcnulty
Jay Plested

Snows of the Winter Realm
Recorded & Mixed by Tom Dring at Vagrant Studios, Winter 2018

Un is:
Monte McCleery
David Wright
Clayton Wolff
Alex Bytnar

Every Fear Illuminated
Recorded & Mixed by Jon Lervold & Monte McCleery, Spring 2017

Mastered by Greg Chandler at Priory Recording Studios
Album artwork by Samuel Nelson

Un Live show dates 
with CHRCH
2/17 – Seattle, WA, Substation
2/18 – Portland, OR, High Water Mark
2/19 – Eugene, OR, Old Nick’s
2/20 – Eureka, CA, Siren’s Song Tavern
2/21 – Sacramento, CA, Blue Lamp

with Body Void
2/22 – Oakland, CA, Elbo Room
2/23 – Los Angeles, CA, 5 Star Bar
2/24 – San Diego, CA, Space Bar
2/25 – Tucson, AZ, Club Congress
2/26 – Phoenix, AZ, The Rouge

Official links:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s