New Jersey progressive metal outfit East Of The Wall return after 6 years with their most potent release to date titled, NP-Complete. 8 new songs, all serpentining through genre boundaries, and delivering seismic yet delicate vitality, NP-Complete distances East of the Wall from modern metalcore without abandoning the group’s progressive slant, instead leveraging adventurous new angles. It’s a cavernous, intricate labyrinth for you to stumble into and lose yourself in.

East Of The Wall have released a brand new track from “NP-Complete” titled, “Fast-Bang Pooper Doop” at Revolver Magazine. East Of The Wall vocalist/bassist Chris Alfano shares, “‘Pooper’ is a bit of a compositional anomaly for us, but not a total outlier. Most of our songs are hashed out in the room — if one of us brings in a more fleshed out idea, it’s usually two riffs — nothing you would call fully realized. But for this one, Matt had all of the main riffs, the sequence, and even the multi-guitar arrangement for the ending (the heavy riff plus the clean harmonies) planned. Plus, when it came time to write the vocals, he came up with those melodies as well for the most part (usually Greg writes his own parts). The rest of the band contributed more harmonies, a few counterpoints, plus the bass and drums obviously. But for this most part, this song came from one person. There’s some precedent for that though: many of our albums tend to have ‘Matt’s short banger.’ In the past, those were two-minute instrumentals (“Mud Button” on our Rosetta/Year of No Light split, “Running Tab of Sweetness” off The Apologist, or the title track of Redaction Artifacts which is basically the same concept but inverted: a quick sleeper instead of a banger). So this is that idea applied to a brief pop song…or, the closest thing to a pop song you get with our band.”

Listen to “Fast-Bang Pooper Doop” at Revolver Magazine here.

Artwork by Brian Olson

Track listing:

  1. Tell Them I’m Sorry
  2. Fast-Bang Pooper Doop
  3. The Almost People
  4. Somn 6
  5. Lienholder
  6. Clapping on the Ones and Threes
  7. N of 1
  8. Non-Functional Harmony

East Of The Wall is:
Seth Rheam: Drums
Chris Alfano: Bass, Vocals, and Synths
Greg Kuter: Guitar and Vocals
Matt Keys: Guitar and Synths
Matt Lupo: Guitar, Trumpet, Vocals, and Synths

Release formats via Translation Loss Records:
2xLP – Version 1:
Royal Blue with Heavy Silver Splatter (limited to 150 copies)
2xLP – Version 2:
Purple and Royal Blue Merge with Heavy Silver and Mustard Splatter (limited to 100 copies)
Digital available across all platforms

Pre-order is available now here.

Live show dates:
April 13 – Kingsland, Brooklyn, NY – Record Release show

Official links:
Facebook –
Instagram –
Twitter –
YouTube –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s