Artwork by Bryan Clovenhoov Proteau

Doom/black metal emissaries Fórn returned in 2018 with their highly anticipated new album, “Rites of Despair”. The band’s first proper full-length after a series of EPs and singles, “Rites of Despair” is the resulting vision of two years worth of tumult, including relocations, lineup changes, life and death. Divided between two Acts, “Act I: Depersonalization” & “Act II: Derealization”, “Rites of Despair” explores themes of isolation, depression, decay, tumultuous self discovery, and abandonment. Tracking and engineering was completed by both Alec Rodriguez at New Alliance in Cambridge, MA, as well as Andrew Oswald at Secret Bathroom in Oakland, CA. Mastering completed by Magnus Lindberg of Cult of Luna. “Rites of Despair” was released worldwide on September 21, 2018 via Gilead Media.

Fórn, “Manifestations of the Divine Root” was featured at Revolver Magazine on June 14, 2018

“Rites of Despair” was met with high acclaim from Revolver Magazine, Stereogum, Decibel Magazine, Metal Injection, Metalsucks, and more.

Press for “Rites of Despair” can be found here.

Album details:

“Rites of Despair” Track List:

  1. 涂地
  2. Manifestations of the Divine Root
  3. Cosmic Desolation
  4. Ego Desecration
  5. (Altar of) Moss, Lichen & Blood
  6. Ritual Ascension Through a Weeping Soul
  7. Auraboros
  8. Scrying Below the Wolf Moon
  9. The Ancient Wisdom of Sorrow
  10. A Transmutation
  11. Subconscious Invocations

Recording notes:
Recorded by: Alec Rodriguez at New Alliance
Mixed by Magnus Lindberg (Cult Of Luna)

Artwork by: Bryan Clovenhoov Proteau

Photos by: Katia Sukhotskaya

Fórn are:
Brian Barbaruolo – Bass
Danny Boyd – Guitar
Christian Donaldson – Drums
Joey Gonzalez – Guitar
Chris Pinto – Vocals