Death Monolith
Hibernation Release

Chicago’s LIKE RATS triumphantly return to the frontline with their third full length titled, Death Monolith. With 8 songs and nearly 40 minutes of pure, pummeling death metal combining angular, vicious riffage with groove-ridden, blasting beats and chill inducing, visceral death growls to create a supreme sonic experience.

LIKE RATS comments, “Death Monolith is an attempt to combine the lowly, violent aspects of our primitive nature with the horror and awe that we feel when confronted not just with death, but with our place in the cosmos.”

Death Monolith explores themes of obsession, love, loss, depression, and sociological commentary on the human condition. Vocalist Dan Polak comments on the lyrical themes in the album, “Underneath, or rather looming above in the heavens, is the connective theme of our awareness of the fragility of this existence and that we are very small on a cosmic scale.”

LIKE RATS formed in 2009 with the goal of exploring the sounds of death metal and thrash from the era before “death metal” became a codified genre. “Death Monolith is our contribution to this human need for creation”, comments guitarist Todd Nief. “It is the sound of terror at our place in the universe and the chaos and disorder that makes up our lives, and awe at the overwhelming beauty that we experience.”

The album positively reflects the bands long history with hardcore and death metal creating their most gripping and extreme album to date. Recorded and mixed by bassist Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recording (Homewrecker, Weekend Nachos) and mastered by Brad Boatright (Obituary, Full of Hell, Tragedy), with Death Monolith, LIKE RATS have not only created their best release to date, but have established themselves as a formidable force to be reckoned with in the death metal underworld!

Track listing:
1. World Devourer
2. Ashen Rain
3. Foul Wind
4. Death Monolith
5. The Omega Equation
6. Crimson Cosmos
7. Contagion
8. Land of Gloom

Recorded and engineered by Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recording in February/March 2019
Album artwork by John Regan / Hand of Doom.

Drew Brown – Drums
Andy Nelson – Bass
Todd Nief – Guitar
Dan Polak – Vocals
John Regan – Guitar

Official links:


For more information, please contact Shannon at Perfect World PR: