Die Lederpredigt
December 11, 2020
Gilead Media

Swiss and US black metal collective FOLTERKAMMER (German for Torture Chamber) formed in 2018 with members Andromeda Anarchia, Zachary Ezrin (Imperial Triumphant), Darren Hanson, and Brendan McGowan. FOLTERKAMMER will release their powerful shape-shifting new full-length, Die Lederpredigt (The Leather Sermon), on December 11, 2020 via Gilead Media. FOLTERKAMMER bridges the gap between traditional second-wave black metal and opera by layering other-worldly vocal performances that range from powerful to operatic scathing screams, coupled with filthy tremolo riffs, and blasting percussion.

The band’s scorching debut album is a statement against the abusive nature of the oppressive systems of religion, authority, and blind faith. This is conveyed all through the voice of a monstrous and seductive goddess looking to inflict pain with her creations. “I wanted to create the most evil creature and make it’s power feminine because we usually associate feminine nature as kind, loving, and protective. Inspired by the S&M aesthetic, I portrayed the “holy” mother as a sensual, monstrous, dominant, vicious mistress who is the source of all life, suffering, and death” shares Andromeda Anarchia.

The band transforms concepts of religious symbolism and feminine nature into grotesque beauty that is dominant and destructive.

Each track is brimming with improvised screams and devilish pristine vocals from Andromeda Anarchia. To add to the poetic symbolism of the lyrical content all lyrics are written and performed in German, a language that lends itself perfectly to the dramatic and dynamic nature of both the operatic and harsh vocals.

Recorded and mixed remotely in both NYC and San Francisco by Steve Blanco (Imperial Triumphant), mastered by Colin Marston (Krallice), and produced by guitarist Zachary Ezrin (Imperial Triumphant), FOLTERKAMMER create a raw and feculent black metal sound while including exquisite classical compositions into their songs.

Die Lederpredigt (The Leather Sermon) will be released on CD, LP and Digital platforms by Gilead Media on December 11, 2020 and features stunning new artwork by Alex Eckman-Lawn. 

Track Listing:
1. Die Nänie
2. Die Hymne
3. Die Elegie
4. Das Gebet
5. Das Magnificat
6. Das Sinngedicht
7. Das Zeugnis

Mixed and engineered by Steve Blanco (Imperial Triumphant)
Mastered by Colin Marston
Produced by Zachary Ezrin

Album artwork: Alex Eckman-Lawn

Andromeda Anarchia – vocals
Zachary Ezrin – guitars, arrangements
Darren Hanson – bass
Brendan McGowan – drums